i added a poem about a month ago and they recently sent me a message it said-
The Board of Directors and the Advisory Committee of
The International Society of Poets
hereby nominate Mary Ryan
for this year’s Poet of the Year competition.
You are cordially invited to attend the poetic event of the year where you will compete for this prestigious prize of $20,000.00 cash
and a $10,000.00 publishing contract.
We request your presence at the
International Society of Poets Convention & Symposium
is it legit? or fake?
ok so the poem went like this, its not in poetry form.. but if you read it right it still rhymes
She stands there.. Cold and broken.. This love she thought existed was gone in a glimpse. That tragic day her heart shattered left her lying there broken and battered.. Her heart alone in a state beyond melancholy. Breaking the haunting silence with a gasp she cried. Oh how sullen was this day her heart died. She was so close but yet so far away. This idea she had hold of, ripped from her grasp. Her heart cries out to breathe but at last…she suffocatesit. The Pain feels good numbing her hurt within. She reaches for the love she once had for him.. but cant find it.These tears of blood flow down her cheeks. Her bones breaking slowly while her heart leaks. So much love that was overflowing suddenly gone as with her life that she was so used to knowing.
Only way to find out, is to email the head of the site, or site owners. And copy and paste that email, and ask them if it’s real.
October 24th, 2009 at 6:02 am
yeah i so did that too and got a similar email.
References :
October 24th, 2009 at 6:39 am
what was ur poem?
References :
October 24th, 2009 at 6:55 am
i personally think it is just a fake.
References :
October 24th, 2009 at 7:32 am
i’m pretty sure its fake. a lot of pepole get that same message…
References :
October 24th, 2009 at 7:42 am
Don’t get too excited…I’m pretty sure they send that to everyone. But you should still do it.
References :
October 24th, 2009 at 8:10 am
Only way to find out, is to email the head of the site, or site owners. And copy and paste that email, and ask them if it’s real.
References :
October 24th, 2009 at 8:53 am
They just want you to buy the anthology of all the poems they’ll publish. It’s all a money-making scam — they don’t care about poetry, they care that you buy their book.
References :
October 24th, 2009 at 9:35 am
real. No DUH!!!! its fake. u really think someone’s gonna give u a million bucks for writing a poem?!?!?
References :
October 24th, 2009 at 10:25 am
Its fake I got the same email and a little certificate in the mail for my achievement. They will send you some offer on buying some overcharged book that they put your poem in.
References :
October 24th, 2009 at 11:06 am
No I am sorry to say, it isn’t, I, and two of my friends have also received carbon copies of that letter, it is a scam to make you buy "Immortal Verses", a book of poetry that will "Have your poem published in it" but they will print your poem in only your book. D not pursue it, it is a scam. I am so sorry:(
References :
October 24th, 2009 at 11:46 am
It is a fake! My sister wrote a poem and they were a big scam just trying to make money of her.
References :
October 24th, 2009 at 12:00 pm
It’s a big fat scam. Go to Google and search for "poetry scams." You’ll get a lot of eye-opening results.
References :
See "Note from Editor" very close to the bottom of the page:
http://www.absolutewrite.com/specialty_writing/poetry_scams.htm
October 24th, 2009 at 12:27 pm
I’m not sure but I got that same message and now I wonder????
References :
October 24th, 2009 at 12:58 pm
i don’t really no i think it is fake
References :
October 24th, 2009 at 1:37 pm
Read my words…F A K E.
References :
October 24th, 2009 at 2:10 pm
I got the same poem and I also got an email from the u.k that i won a check for 100,000,000 uk money!! ITS FAKE BIG TIME
References :